2022 Conference Schedule

The theme of our virtual conference on July 16-17 2022 is “Variations on a Theme“. Our conference has three tracks: Conservation, Transformation and Recognition. Each presentation will be followed by 15 minutes for questions from the audience.

The registration fee is $20 per person with access to recordings for 7 days after the event is over. Real-time captioning will be provided for this event. Click here to register.

Saturday, July 16, 9 am -3 pm EST (8 am-2pm Central; 7am to 1 pm Mountain; 6 am to 12 pm Pacific)

Time Conservation Transformation
9:00-9:45 am Principles of Hearing conservation for Musicians with Dr. Heather Malyuk  
10:00-10:30 am Hearing Conservation programs at US Colleges with Dr. Kris Chesky  
10:45 to 11:00 BREAK  
11:00-12:00 pm   More is Better: Three Music Programs for Hearing Aids with Dr. Marshall Chasin
12-1:30 pm BREAK FOR LUNCH  
1:30-2:15 pm   A Music-friendly Audiogram with Jay Alan Zimmerman
2:30 pm to 3:15 pm   The Cochlear Implant Programming Process: How to Explain Your Auditory Requirements to Your CI Audiologist with Rick Ledbetter

Sunday, July 17, 1-5 pm EST (12 pm to 4 pm CST; 11 am-3 pm Mountain: 10 am-2pm Pacific)

Time Transformation   Recognition/Acceptance
1:00-2:00 pm  Life After Deaf: Adjusting to Hearing Loss as Musicians with Dr. Deb McCaw  
2:00-3:00 pm   Companion Mics: Hearing Assistive Technology for Participating in Musical Ensembles with Dr. Mead Killion
3:00-4:00 pm   Instrument Selection for Individuals with Significant Hearing Loss with Wendy Cheng and Dr. Brad Ingrao
4:00-5:00 pm   Obtaining an Undergraduate Degree in Music: Issues and Barriers for Students with Hearing Loss with Tyler Mazone, Abigel Szilagyi, and Dr. Michael Vitalino